Why I Became a Ghost Seeker

Why I Became a Ghost Seeker: Elizabeth

When I tell people that I’m interested in the paranormal they always give me a strange look, and why wouldn’t they? For starters, I look like the complete opposite of someonthe-addams-familye interested in the paranormal. I’m a burst of sunshine and rainbows. I have bright red hair, I love colors, and I’m an early bird rather than a night owl. Even though I love the sun, beaches, and flowers, I have an interest for the strange and out of the ordinary too. I call that part of me my alter-ego. When I was a child I was drawn to shows like The Adams Family or The Munsters. My favorite holiday was and always will be Halloween. One of the first horror movies I watched was The Exorcist and I was immediately drawn to the true story behind it. My family thought I was an oddball but they were also intrigued by my strange interests and wanted to see where they might be leading me to.

At the age of thirteen, I turned on the Travel Channel and saw a show that was on called Ghost Hunters. I was hooked. I was fascinated by the history of each location they went to, I wanted to ghosthunterslearn more about the scientific features of each bit of technology they used, I was pulled in by the travel aspect and getting to see the world, and I was mystified by the idea of a ghost and that you could actually try to capture evidence of one. I saw Ghost Busters before but that was a movie, I didn’t think you could actually go out and try to catch evidence of a spirit with this odd technology they were using. I started reading up on haunted locations and started to visit them myself. I had some odd experiences, sure, but nothing astounding telling me that a ghost existed. I was critical, to say the least, but something kept attracting me to the paranormal mysteries.

I started to read more on hauntings and the different types of them. As I did so my childhood memory began recollecting and I realized that I may have had a couple paranormal experiences without knowing they were possible spirits. Does something ever move in your room without a breeze? Do you ever see a shadow pass by too quick to see its full form? Do you ever hear a whisper but see nothing? I did, but I never knew that those questions are why people study the paranormal. I wanted more.

Needless to say, my nerdy brain took me to more exploration of history, hauntings, science, and more! The study of the paranormal is so much more than trying to find evidence of a spirit. From studying the paranormal we can explore new aspects of science, learn more about our history, learn about our psychology, discover answers to religion… and so on. To me, studying the paranormal is studying life, and that is why I became a Ghost Seeker.

Leave a Reply

